I am a sinner and this is my friend

Becoming a Christian does not mean an end of sinning. The battle between flesh and spirit is something the Apostle Paul struggled with (and wrote about). He considered himself chief among sinners. The good news is… that’s who Christ loves.

I was inspired to share this post after reading this verse in Psalm 69:6 as part of the Essential Jesus reading plan from YouVersion:

“Lord, the Lord Almighty,
may those who hope in you
not be disgraced because of me;
God of Israel,
may those who seek you
not be put to shame because of me.” http://bible.us/ps69.6.niv

Then, while driving down the 101 on our recent family vacation, I listened closely to the lyrics to the Casting Crowns song, “Jesus, Friend of Sinners” and it reminded me of our words and actions as Christians. Are we swinging the sword of righteousness and driving people away from Christ or are we loving people in such a way to draw people to Jesus?

Jesus, friend of sinners, we have strayed so far away
We cut down people in your name but the sword was never ours to swing
Jesus, friend of sinners, the truth’s become so hard to see
The world is on their way to You but they’re tripping over me
Always looking around but never looking up I’m so double minded
A plank eyed saint with dirty hands and a heart divided

The eyes of the world are on us as Christians. Do our lives reflect Christ? Our actions speak volumes. We draw people to Christ, or drive them away, often by the things we say and do.

All of this reminded me to think, live and act intentionally to reflect Christ’s love and bring them to Him. What do you think?

One thought on “I am a sinner and this is my friend

Leave a Reply

