SOAP – Day 182

S: “Now, lord our God, deliver us from his hand, so that all the kingdoms of the earth may know that you alone, lord, are God.” (2Kings 19:19 NIV)

O: This is Hezekiah’s prayer to God after discovering the king of Assyria’s plans for Jerusalem (and believe me, I’m simplifying all of this because of the nature of my own understanding as a “young” Christian).  This king of Assyria is being rather confident that God is not going to save Jerusalem and is taunting Hezekiah in a “bring it on” fashion with claims of a better life, a “grass is greener” inference to his speech.

A: 2 Kings 19 was part of my daily reading plan and it pressed upon me 2 things: First, how many times in our day/age/culture are we promised that one thing is SO MUCH better than the other…in fact, it’s been PROVEN that what you have now is terrible and you NEED this new thing (read 2 Kings 18:23-37). We are constantly bombarded by, most likely, demonic influence to avert our eyes and attention away from Godly influence. And, second, I love Isaiah’s affirmation that the king of Assyria is dead wrong, this only helps to give Hezekiah confidence after he laid out the plan in front of God and prayed a personal prayer.

P: Father God, thank You for Your blessings, provisions and wisdom that You have given me today. I pray that You surround me with wise counsel and that I can pray in such a specific and direct way with You as a child does with their parents. Lord, I thank You  and praise You for all that You have given us and I pray that You continue to give favor to Your faithful servants and help us give hope to the faithless. Help the body reach the people that need to be reached and bring them closer to You, a personal relationship with Jesus. In Jesus name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

