SOAP – Day 161

S: The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the lord. (Proverbs 16:33 NIV)

O: This was the last verse I read as part of my 1 year reading plan today and one that reverberated with me the most out of all of today’s scripture. The reason why is, as we near the celebration of Jesus’s birth (4 more days!) I was wondering last night, what if Jesus was born NOW, into the day and world we’re living in RIGHT NOW? As with any child born recently, I am sad that they’re growing up in a world full of anxiety, uncertainty, stress and evil-doing. I’m sure relationally, it may not be so different than 2,000+ years ago, but that’s when this verse gives me hope and comfort.

A: How does this verse give me comfort? I remind myself that God is in control and everything that is happening is because He is allowing it to! So when I fear what our governments are doing, how the economy is going and how growing up in this world is seeming worse and worse, I am comforted. Even on an individual basis, we have free will, but we also have God to help guide us and put people and events into our lives that will help us stay on course. This is why I also am not stressed about the state of our world, God determines the outcome, God is in control and I will not question why decisions are made, but look for God’s hand in these decisions.

P: Father God, thank You for all that You have given us, for Your word and the ability to gather in fellowship and learn more about You at any time. Thank You for these verses and the comfort that it brings us. Please help remind me that it’s not about the event or the decision being made, but about how You are in control and you will use everything for Your glory. I am glad that You are in control and not me or man. Thank You for determining how the pieces fall into place, we praise You for Your love and discernment. Amen.

One thought on “SOAP – Day 161

  1. This is a great reminder, Brad. Our Heavenly Father IS in control. Nothing escapes His oversight. His plans will prevail, and along the way, we are transformed.

Leave a Reply

