SOAP – Day 157

S: Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones. (Proverbs 16:23 NIV)

O: So many times I’ve kicked myself for not showing enough appreciation or even worse, appreciate at all for what someone has done for me. Even showing acknowledgement for what I am observing (e.g., “Hey, that was great parenting right there!” or “Wow, your kid is so talented!”).

A: Why do we hold back? Why is it so easy to be critical and speak our mind THEN? Why don’t we say what we’re thinking, especially when it would be positive and uplifting?

From a leadership perspective, consider the classic Bear Bryant quote, one John Baldoni opines in his Harvard Business Review article, “Humility As A Leadership Trait”: “If anything goes bad, I did it. If anything goes semi-good, we did it. If anything goes really good, then you did it. That’s all it takes to get people to win football games for you.”

P: Father God, thank You for Your blessings and wisdom that You have given me through Your word. Thank You for speaking to me through my prayer and meditation, please help me focus “speaking my mind” more on the positive than on the negative in this life. Please help me overflow with graciousness so that I may be a well of gratitude. Thank You for all that You have given us, please continue to pour Your blessings on Your followers. Amen.

Leave a Reply

