SOAP – Day 156

S: “And when the angel stretched out his hand upon Jerusalem to destroy it, the Lord repented him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed the people, It is enough: stay now thine hand. And the angel of the Lord was by the threshingplace of Araunah the Jebusite.” (2 Samuel 24:16 KJV)

O: In this passage, I find some great leadership lessons for leaders at all levels. David has recently become anointed as king and in a moment of weakness (pride, maybe?), he counts his people and is more of less standing back, looking at his people with a “look what I’ve done” attitude. There was no glory to God here and Joab knew it…then David knew it and had to choose God’s punishment. After the 3rd day of wrath, David finally stepped up and admitted wrong.

A: As you are a leader of people, it may not be an entire company or a division or even a group, but you are a leader of people whether you realize it or not. Understanding and admitting to God that none of this was you, that it was all Him is key to understanding that you are not in control of the next move (and this can be a very scary thing to some people). God wants you to put all of your trust, faith and love in Him. And unlike anyone else in this world that you may have tried to do this with, God won’t let you down!

P: Father God, thank you for these days that you give us and for all of the blessings you have poured out on me. Thank you for finding favor with me and blessing me with the strength, courage and wisdom to help lead when given the opportunity. I pray that I never take my eyes off of you and never try to fool myself that any of this is done on my own accord. Please come into my heart and overflow me with your love, grace and wisdom. Amen.

Leave a Reply

