SOAP – Day 153

S: “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.” (Proverbs 16:16 NIV)

O: Although I could write pages on this verse and topic, I know I’ll lose you the TLDR crowd, so I’ll keep it short and sweet. I had a pride problem for years and it almost destroyed me, my family and everything I held dear to me (i.e., my relationship with God). I didn’t know I had a pride problem, it was something my wife (because she loves and cares for me) pointed out. It took me a good year to recognize, accept and seek help, but I pray it won’t take you nearly as long and I pray that you have someone in your life that will lovingly let you know. And if you don’t think you have a pride problem, you’re likely in bigger trouble than you thought (and if you just scoffed at this statement, then case closed).

A: I use the term “had” above loosely, I still struggle with pride. From acting on it to acting on behalf of it, I still have to examine my thoughts, motives and actions and apply them to biblical principals and the ‘ol WWJD question. If you have too much pride, you will fall, it’s only a matter of time. Please seek biblical counsel and support through your pastor or your accountability partner as soon as you can. 

P: Father God, thank you for your wisdom and grace that you accept us as we are and who we’ve been. Imperfect and unworthy until the day we are with you, you love and welcome us just the same. Please speak your insight and wisdom into the lives of those struggling and suffering with pride. I pray that you reach them before they fall, before they descend deep but more importantly, before anyone gets hurt. Thank you, God, in Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Additional resources:

Press On in Joy…Humility (Hill Country Bible Church, Leander, TX)

The Enemy Within: Pride (Crosspoint Christian Church)

What About Me? (Hill Country Bible Church, Leander, TX)

Monsters Inside Me (First Church, Burlington, KY)

Leave a Reply

