SOAP – Day 151

S: “Now in those days the advice Ahithophel gave was like that of one who inquires of God. That was how both David and Absalom regarded all of Ahithophel’s advice.” (2 Samuel 16:23 NIV)

O: I’m going to admit to you that I read beyond what I was supposed to read today as part of the One Year Bible I’m doing through YouVersion, I hope you’ll forgive me 🙂  The verse I chose above didn’t stick out to me at first, but as I read a little into 2 Samuel 17, I noticed just how important it was and it started to tug more and more on my consciousness as I meditated on it. I can look at it as, “be careful how we seek counsel” very easily as I’ll often seek advice on smaller decisions and if the first person I ask has an answer that I agree with or that falls in line with what I was thinking, I often just go with it.

I can also look at it from a “be careful who we value advice from” angle just the same. I tend to have a handful of people who I pretty much think are the wisest people I know and that what they tell me must be true (my wife is on that list and no, I’m not sucking up, she doesn’t read this blog). I have to be careful with how I approach this advice so I’m not either holding it over Godly counsel but also not treating it as the ultimate truth.

A: This verse really made me think about the “who, how and when” aspects of seeking advice and acting on that advice. I need to be consistent with seeking God’s advice and thinking of God’s plan for me (especially when the advice seems to go against what I want).

P: Father, thank You for the counselors You have placed into my life, I pray that they are loyal servants to You and that You fill their hearts and minds with Your wisdom. I also pray that You help lead me to You when I need direction, to be my only compass as well as to not hold others higher than You. Please come into my heart today and fill it full of Your love, wisdom and guidance, Lord. I also pray for Your protection over my friend Peter Horn today and the doctors that will be working on him. Please come over this situation and allow calm hands, peace and quick recovery to flow into this procedure. Thank You for everything You do for us, in Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

