SOAP – Day 148

S: “8 Better a little with righteousness than much gain with injustice. 9 In their hearts humans plan their course, but the lord establishes their steps.” (NIV) “8 Better is a little with righteousness than great revenues without right. 9 A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.” (KJV) “8 Better to have little, with godliness, than to be rich and dishonest. 9 We can make our plans, but the LORD determines our steps.” (NLT) “Far better to be right and poor than to be wrong and rich. 9 We plan the way we want to live, but only God makes us able to live it. It Pays to Take Life Seriously.” (MSG)

O: Focusing more on verse 8 between the two passages and reading it from different translations, it really starts to hit home and make more and more sense to me. I find it less and less surprising that fame, glory and “achievements” are later found out to be gained through bribery, deceit and corruption. This used to really appall me, made me wonder how such a person can do such a thing but through biblical teaching and maturity, I’m reminded that we all fall short of the glory of God (and is that what I was doing, holding that person up to god-like standards?).

A: This verse jumped out to me more than anything this morning (and I’m in some exciting parts of 2 Samuel). I will look around at all of the blessings I have and that I have achieved by being obedient to God rather than looking at what I don’t have or what I could have if I was corrupt.

P: Father God, thank you for everything you have blessed me with. Please come into my heart and fill me with content and joy that You are all I need. I also pray that You have your way with others to help show them where true joy and happiness live and the rewards of righteousness. Amen.

Leave a Reply

